Support Groups

Spinal cord injury support groups provide information, support, and resource materials to many individuals living with SCI.  Florida has numerous groups located in most larger metro areas in the state.  Below is a listing of the groups we know about with contact and meeting information.  Get involved and find out what's happening at your local group.


 

Daytona Beach

Halifax Neuroscience SCI Support Group
Halifax Medical Center, 201 N Clyde Morris Blvd, Daytona Beach, 32114
Tom Bird - (386) 795-1061 or tbirdmhs@aol.com
Group meets the third Friday of each month at 4:00pm on the 4th floor of the 201 building.

 

Hollywood

Spinal Cord Connections Support Group
Memorial Regional Hospital - South Campus, 3600 Washington Street, Hollywood, 33021
Debbie Rice - (954) 518-5546 or drice@mhs.net
Group meets 3rd Wednesday of every month from 5:30pm-7:00pm.

 

Jacksonville

Brooks Rehab SCI Support Group
Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital, 3599 University Boulevard South, Jacksonville, 32216
Kristen Ellison, Ph.D. - (904) 345-6819 or kristen.ellison@brookshealth.org
Jennifer McParland - (904) 345-7977 or jennifer.mcparland@brookshealth.org
Group meets the last Thursday of each month from 6:00 - 7:30pm.

Shands Jacksonville Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Support  Group
Shands Jacksonville, 655 West Eighth Street, Jacksonville, 32209 - Tower II, 1st floor Blue Room
Khalisha Mitchell & Myria Mitchell - (904) 244-4427 or khalisha.mitchell@jax.ufl.edu or myria.mitchell@jax.ufl.edu
Group meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month from 12pm-1pm.

 

Lake Worth

Endless Possiblities
Therapeutic Recreation Complex, 2728 Lake Worth Rd. Lake Worth, FL 33461
Stacy Staebell - (561) 966-7021 or sstaebel@pbcgov.org
Group meets the 3rd Tuesday of each month from 5:30-7:30pm.  Visit their website at www.endlesspossibilitiesflorida.com for more information.

 

Largo

Spinal Cord Injury Outreach Network (SCION)
HealthSouth Rehab of Largo, 901 N Clearwater Largo Rd, Largo, 33770
Lee Hardin - (727) 787-8243 or leehardin@verizon.net
SCION meets the third Thursday of each month at 6:00pm.  The group coordinates recreational outings, sports, and social gatherings in addition to their monthly meetings.  Email rac@custom-mobility.com to be added to SCION's email mailing list.

 

Melbourne

Spinal Cord Injury Support Group - Sea Pines
HealthSouth Sea Pines Rehab Hospital, 101 E Florida Avenue, Melbourne, FL 32901
Laura Leitz - (321) 984-4699 or laura.leitz@healthsouth.com
Group meets the 4th Wednesday of each month at 4:30pm.

 

Miami

Spinal Cord Injury Support Group (SCISG) - Miami-Dade County Chapter
Diagnostic Treatment Center, 1080 NW 19th Street, Miami, FL 33136
Luis Amaro - (786) 518-6342 or lamaro31@gmail.com
Group meets every 4th Wednesday of each month from 12:00-2:00pm.  Visit their website at www.scisg.org for more information.

Stress Relief Support Group for Family Caregivers
United HomeCare, Caregiver Resource Center -8400 N.W. 33rd St., Ste. 400, Miami, FL 33122
Blanca Ceballos - (305) 328-0875
Eight Friday sessions on Aug 31, Sept 7, 14, 21, 28 and Oct 5, 12, 19 from 2pm-3:30pm
Learn how to manage stress and improve your qualiy of life. Develop coping skills and explore benefits of self-care, problem solving, journal writing, mental imagery, deep breathing, and muscle relaxation. Participants will also learn about community care resources.
 

Ocala

Spinal Cord Injury Support Group (SCISG) – Marion County Chapter
MRMC Auxiliary Conference Center, 1542 SW 1st Avenue, Ocala, 34471
Jeannine Anderson - (352) 425-7050 or jeannineanderson@mrhs.org
Group meets the 3rd Thursday of each month at 5:30-7:30pm.  Visit their website at www.scisg.org for more information.

 

Orlando

Greater Orlando Spinal Cord Injury Network
Orlando Health Rehabilitation Institute, 100 West Gore Street, Ste 104, Orlando, FL 32806
Bob Melia - (407) 900-6724 or contact@goscin.com
Meetings are held at different locations.  The Greater Orlando Spinal Cord Injury Network is a non-profit group for persons with SCI in the Orlando area.  Their mission is to serve the needs of SCIs in employment, adaptive sports, recreation, social functions, networking, outreach, SCI prevention, and guest speakers for the group and the community.  Visit their website at www.goscin.com to join their mailing list and to find out more.

Orlando Lucerne SCI Support Group
Orlando Regional Lucerne Hospital, 818 S Main Lane, Orlando, 32801
Andrea Predl, MSW Group Facilitator - (321) 841-4173 or andrea.predl@orlandohealth.com
Group meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month on the 2nd floor of the rehab annex from 2:30pm to 4:00pm. 

 

Pensacola

West Florida SCI Support Group
West Florida Rehab Institute, 8383 N Davis Highway, Pensacola, 32514
Joann Massey - (850) 494-6178 or joann.massey@hcahealthcare.com
Group meets 2nd Tuesday of each month from 2:30pm to 3:30pm.

 

Sarasota

Sarasota SCI Group
HealthSouth Rehab Sarasota, 6400 Edgelake Drive, Sarasota, 34240
John Berkey - (941) 661-7763 or johnberkey56@gmail.com
Group meets every third Thursday of each month at 5:30pm.  Visit www.healthsouthsarasota.com for directions and www.scisupportgroup.webs.com for more information online.

 

Spring Hill

Spring Hill SCI Support Group
HealthSouth of Spring Hill, 12440 Cortez Blvd, Spring Hill, 34613
Dee Hardee - (352) 592-7237 or delores.hardee@healthsouth.com
Group meets second Thursday of the month from 5:00pm to 7:00pm.

 

Sunrise

Spinal Cord Injury Support Group (SCISG) - Broward County Chapter
HealthSouth Sunrise Rehabilitation Hospital & The Bridge, 10199 NW 44th Street, Sunrise, 33351
Rob Bereolos - (954) 603.3143 or rbereolos@scisg.org
Meets first Tuesday of each month from 4:30-6:30pm.  Visit their website at www.scisg.org for more information.

 

Tallahassee

North Florida SCI Association
HealthSouth Rehab of Tallahassee, 1675 Riggins Road, Tallahassee, 32308
Elizabeth Barranco - (850) 656-4868 or elizabeth.barranco@healthsouth.com
Meets the second Monday of the month from 6:00-7:30pm in the cafeteria.  Refreshments are free!

TMH Spinal Cord Injury Wellness Group
Tallahassee Memorial Rehab Center, 1609 Medical Drive, Tallahassee, 32308
Sheree Porter - (850) 431-1199
Meets 4th Wednesday of each month at 4:30pm at the rehab center unless otherwise noted.
This group promotes wellness for SCI survivors through networking, education, exercise and opportunities for collaboration in the community.  Snacks provided.

 

Tampa

Tampa Area SCI Education & Support Group
Tampa General Rehab Center, 6 Tampa General Circle, Tampa, 33606
(813) 844-4711
Group meets every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 4:30pm.